Enriquez hopes his would-be growing operation, Craft Harvest, will help to boost the Texas economy.
"It’s going to be fiercely competitive," said Enriquez.
Hans Enriquez works at Lazy Daze Cafe in Austin. He was one of the 43 who applied, and was denied in 2017. Now that the state’s medical marijuana program has been expanded to serve more patients, he’s going to apply again.
"We received a letter from DPS that we do not have to start the whole process over, so really it’s going to take a little revisions and our application is still pending with DPS," Enriquez said.
The Texas Association of Business isn’t convinced there’s a boom on the horizon. In a statement they told us, "The Texas Association of Business does not perceive this limited application of low-THC prescriptions as having an immediate, notable financial impact on the Texas economy."
A third degree felony may apply for between five pounds and 50 pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in two to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Even though there are no specific marijuana cultivation laws in Texas at this time, don’t just assume that you can do it without any repercussions. In fact, if you are caught cultivating marijuana, penalties range from up to 180 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines to life in prison and up to $50,000 in fines.
Marijuana cultivation occurs when an individual grows or harvests leaves or buds from cannabis plants. The individual might use the plants for medical, medicinal, or personal purposes, or sell and distribute the marijuana.
Cultivation Covered by Texas Laws on Marijuana Possession
About the Author:
A first degree felony may apply for more than 2,000 pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in five to 99 years or life in prison and/or a fine of up to $50,000.
What It Means to Cultivate Marijuana in Texas
A state jail felony may apply for between four ounces and five pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in 180 days to two years in jail, a fine of up to $10,000, or both.
A class B misdemeanor may apply for up to two ounces of marijuana. A conviction can result in up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, or both.