Posted on

laws for growing medical marijuana in colorado

Laws for growing medical marijuana in colorado

Colorado’s application fee for a cultivation facility is $4,000. The annual renewal fee depends on the number of marijuana plants. 9

The maximum 12-plant per household rule applies to card-holding medical marijuana patients and caregivers, but there are exceptions. Patients can possess up to 24 plants at home if they:

Drug crimes always carry the risk of deportation for non-citizen defendants. Immigrants facing any criminal charges are encouraged to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible to try to get the charges dismissed or changed to a non-deportable crime. 7

Each cultivation facility is assigned a different tier depending on the number of plants it has:

9. How much is a grow license in Colorado?

And charges that get dismissed can be sealed immediately. 6

MIP conviction

The wait time to seal criminal records in Colorado depends on the type of conviction.

5. How many plants can you grow in Colorado legally with a medical card?

Medical marijuana patients in Colorado can grow up to 99 plants on a non-residential property in accordance with local law. 10 But they should get an extended plant count first by contacting the medical marijuana registry.

Colorado law permits adults 21 and older to grow up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature plants. Homes with two or more adults can have no more than 12 marijuana plants. A first-time offense of possessing more than 12 plants is a level 1 drug petty offense, punishable by up to $1,000.

Laws for growing medical marijuana in colorado

But Bradley said Thursday it’s too soon to tell whether patients will experience that confusion. He said he hopes other lawmakers join Garnett in refraining from further legislation this year, to leave time for “the impacts of these rules to be fully implemented and understood.”

Colorado will impose stricter rules for the purchase of medical marijuana starting Jan. 1 following several months of deliberation over how to execute a new state law meant largely to limit young people’s access to and abuse of high-potency THC products.

Exceptions to the new limits apply only to a patient whose doctor affirms in writing that the patient has a physical or geographic hardship that should allow them to exceed the daily purchase limits, and that the patient has designated a store as the primary place they get their medicine.

In the process of passing that bill, the legislature heard stories parents shared about the dramatic effects some marijuana products have had on their children. Parents spoke of psychosis, suicidal thoughts and nonstop vomiting, among other issues, and by the time the legislature was to vote on the bill, nearly all members — 93 out of 100 — were convinced of a need to tighten the law.

Public education

The past session was anything but. HB21-1317 was the product of months of meetings and it drew massive bipartisan support from the legislature as well as dire warnings from medical marijuana patients and advocates concerned about restricted access to medicine.

The law that led to the rules also directs the Colorado School of Public Health to analyze existing research “related to the physical and mental health effects of high-potency THC marijuana and concentrates” — and its results could influence future policy decisions at the Capitol.

Medical marijuana dispensaries are specifically barred from marketing to people under the age of 21. That’s a change from the previous ban on advertising to people under 18. The state considers it a violation if an advertisement appears in a form of media estimated to have at least 28.4% of its audience younger than 21. In advertising concentrates, medical and recreational businesses must both include language approved by the state that warns of the risks of overconsumption.

New rules for buyers and sellers were announced this week

Ferrandino was not available Thursday to discuss the new rules, a spokeswoman said.

At the same time it has pursued these tougher regulations, the legislature has shown increasing openness to the use of cannabis in children to treat epilepsy and other issues, even legalizing the storage and administration of medicinal cannabis products in schools.

Laws for growing medical marijuana in colorado

But it is too soon to know everything that the law portends for medical patients because the future of cannabis access for medical patients will be sorted out through a state rulemaking process that kicked off last week. It will culminate with new rules issued by Jan. 1 by Mark Ferrandino, the former speaker of the House who was appointed by Gov. Jared Polis to lead the Department of Revenue.

Lawmakers passed a bill to more strictly regulate pot, but left details to a rulemaking process

“I think it’s important that the decisions around hardships be made right then and there, with those specific doctors, the ones who are the experts,” Truman Bradley of the Marijuana Industry Group, the state’s largest trade association in this sector, said at the group’s first meeting, Aug. 3.

Serving sizes

“I take three grams a day,” said Bridget Serrit of Colorado Springs, who is a medical cannabis patient with multiple autoimmune diseases. “I no longer get high. … And cancer and hospice patients take more than I do.”