Anderson said it typically takes about six months to get from seed to smoke. He said first-time growers should consider taking a class to avoid trial and error.
But there’s a catch. There’s no legal way to buy the seeds.
The gray area is a product of the accelerated timeline proposed by Gov. Ralph Northam’s office at the end of a lengthy legislative process.
“People have to read the fine print”
Anderson said there are also quality considerations that make indoor growth more desirable for beginners.
Due to the federal prohibition on pot, Pedini said it’s illegal to have seeds mailed to you and to cross state lines after purchasing them elsewhere.
“People have to read the fine print. We’re going to do our best to educate people but we’re not going to not enforce the law,” Katz said.
“Everything you need…except the seeds”
Adults ages 21 and older are allowed to grow up to four cannabis plants per household, not per person.
Now, the law has changed and Netzel is among those hoping to grow at home as a cheaper alternative. Currently, she said she pays about $800 per month to use cannabis for her condition, not including the cost of periodically renewing her medical card recommendation.
How is that possible if there is no actual law here against cultivation? To understand, we first need to define “cultivation” itself.
What It Means to Cultivate Marijuana in Texas
A second degree felony may apply for between 50 pounds and 2,000 pounds of marijuana. A conviction can result in two to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
In Texas, Marijuana Cultivation Penalties Mirror Possession Consequences
Which is how the state criminalizes cultivation without actually writing a specific law for it. So, what does it mean to be charged with marijuana possession in our state?