Posted on

how to become a medical marijuana grower in michigan

Applications for a Michigan Medical Marihuana will contain a list of questions, touching on a variety of factors. Applications for a Michigan Medical Marihuana grower’s license can be filed 360 days after the effective date of the new amendments, which is December 20, 2016.[iii]

There are at least 15 separate factors that the State of Michigan will consider before granting an applicant’s license to become a grower of medical marihuana. Some of these factors will automatically exclude a person from consideration while others are discretionary; meaning they may exclude but will not necessarily exclude a person from becoming a licensed grower.

There are a whole host of things that can be considered but that do not automatically exclude an applicant. These include:

Registered caregivers and patients are excluded from these grower application/licensing requirement. Marijuana growers who fail to obtain a license will be prosecuted criminally under state and federal drug laws.

A review of the amendments suggests both that the medical marijuana licensing application process will be arduous, and will likely include extensive background checks. Also, it appears that the overall goal is to keep all growing operations business-like. The state is seeking to keep the “legal” growing of marijuana from looking anything like the illegal growing of marijuana, and to keep people who have previously grown marijuana as part of an illegal business enterprise from, by obtaining a state license, thereby suddenly becoming a legal business enterprise.

The following factors make an applicant ineligible;

Click here for more on the history of marijuana laws in Michigan or for information on business under the Michigan Marihuana Act.

The MRA is allowed to increase these license costs by up to 10 percent annually. The renewal fees are contingent on the initial license fee and the license holders’ relative success in comparison to other license holders of the same type. Some licenses cost just $1,000 with the option to renew for $1,000 regardless of other license holders’ success.

On the other hand, Class B Growers and Microbusinesses must pay $8,000 for their licenses. If you’re planning to do retail, secure transportation, or operate a Safety Compliance Facility, you can expect to pay $25,000. For Class C Growers, Excess Growers, and Processors in Michigan, you’ll have to pay $40,000 for your license.

The MRTMA offers 11 different kinds of marijuana establishment licenses; these include the following grow licenses:

How much is a Class A Growers License in Michigan?

Ganjapreneur reported that Michigan is phasing out caregivers’ access to cannabis licensees. On September 30, 2019, medical cannabis caregivers in Michigan are no longer able to transfer or sell products to licensed cannabis growers and processors. This is a rule established by the MRA.

The annual renewal fees for cannabis business licenses in Michigan with an initial fee of $8,000 can increase or decrease by $2,000. This depends on if the license holder is in the top or bottom third of the type of license they hold. The bottom third pays $6,000 renewal fees, the middle pays $8,000, and the top pays $10,000.

Capitalization requirements to become a Class A Grower in Michigan

Ultimately, this depends on your municipality. Your municipality will need to “opt-in,” which involves writing an ordinance that permits cannabis growing within the municipal borders. There may be a municipality fee involved, but you’ll need to contact your city council to determine whether they have local municipality fees.

Cannabis growers licenses in Michigan start at $4,000 for a Class A Growers License. However, if you decide on another option, you could have to pay up to $40,000. These licenses must be renewed annually for a similar fee.