Posted on

how to become a legal cannabis grower in california

How to become a legal cannabis grower in california

Recreational cannabis sales began in January 2018, and while many have played by the rules, the illegal growth and sale of the plant continues to undermine those following the rules.

More than 1.11 million illegal plants were seized in 2020.

Illegal plants seized in California by year

Share this:

Since its establishment in 1983, the Campaign Against Marijuana Planting has had more than 110 law enforcement agencies involved, making it one of the largest law enforcement task forces in the U.S.

Before the crop reaches a retailer or manufacturer, the cannabis must pass through a distributor, who will also have the product sampled by a testing lab – the cost of which will be passed on to the grower.

Free consultation for criminal defense cases only. Cannabis business consultation requires a fee.

The following licenses (each valid for one year) are available:

California recently passed two pieces of legislation that will govern the state’s cannabis industry. The Medical Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MCRSA) concerns medical marijuana, while the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA) concerns recreational marijuana.

Labor relations

The laws and regulations surrounding the cultivation of cannabis are very complex. If you want to minimize your risk and stay on the right side of the law, you should enlist the help of a seasoned California marijuana business lawyer.

Cannabis is a $2 billion per year industry in California, and it’s set to grow even more in the coming years. And most of that growth stems from the marijuana plants cultivated throughout the state. Before planting your crop, however, you will need to obtain the approval of your local government and a large marijuana cultivator license from the state.

On the low end, a small outdoor license application fee is $535, and the license and renewal fees are $4,820. On the higher end, an application fee for a medium indoor license is $8,655 with license and renewal fees totaling $77,905.

Type 1

If you are a grower, you may hold multiple cultivation licenses for your different crops. When it comes to holding other types of licenses, however, there are important restrictions:

The mixed-light license is for operations that use both natural and artificial light on one premise that holds 10,001 to 22,000 square feet of canopy area. Again, the department will limit the number of these licenses available.