Posted on

growing weed laws in washington

Growing weed laws in washington

Washington state residents have long been able to brew their own beer in their basement, or ferment homemade wine in their living room. If they want to smoke a joint to unwind, though, their only legal option is to get dressed and buy one at a store.

Still, some new provisions have been added to the bill this year to try to address public safety and nuisance concerns.

“I don’t see this having a significant impact on the state budget,” said state Rep. Drew MacEwen, R-Union, who is co-sponsoring the measure.

Washington’s definition of marijuana includes “all parts of the plant Cannabis,” including “the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds or resin.” Under this definition hashish or concentrates, which are compounds made from the resin of the plant, would be considered marijuana.

A person who delivers a controlled substance, which is subsequently used by the person delivered to and results in their death, is guilty of a class B felony punishable by up to 10 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $20,000. An additional mandatory fine of $1,000 applies to first offenses and $2,000 to second or subsequent offenses.

Sentencing

Any person convicted of a second or subsequent offense is subject to double the term of imprisonment authorized for the offense and double the fine authorized for the offense. However, this does not apply to certain possession offenses. A second or subsequent offense is any offense of this statute committed by a person with a prior conviction under this statute or any statute of the United States or any state relating to narcotics, marijuana, depressants, hallucinogens, or stimulants.

Mandatory Fee

Selling, manufacturing, transferring, or possessing with intent to manufacture, sell, or transport hashish or concentrates within designated areas is a crime punishable by a term of imprisonment no greater than 10 years and/or a fine no greater than $20,000 or four times the value of the hashish or concentrates. There is an affirmative defense available allowing the accused to prove that the offense was entirely within a private residence. The designated areas are:

Growing weed laws in washington

If applications open again, the fee to obtain a producer license is $1381. Additionally, you will have to pay a $250 application fee to be considered.

Phat Panda was founded in 2014 by Robert and Katrina McKinley. The original 30-Panda crew has now grown to over 550 employees.

Piece of Mind Cannabis partners with the best growers in Washington

As officials in states that permit marijuana cultivation can tell you, these fears are often unfounded. Allowing residents to grow their own personal-use cannabis has not caused any neighborhoods to collapse.

Let’s take a look.

Fire Cannabis

Our growers have decades of cultivation experience…and, for the first time ever, legal jobs.