The law does not allow for operating a vehicle, including boats and airplanes, while under the influence of marijuana.
A person who smokes marijuana in a public place, other than in an area licensed for that activity, is subject to a civil fine not exceeding $50.
According to the bill, a person growing or storing marijuana plants must own the private residence where the plants are cultivated and stored or obtain written permission to cultivate and store marijuana from the owner of the private residence.
Montana residents can grow marijuana starting January 1, 2021.
Expungement/resentencing for previous offenses
The law does not allow for smoking or consuming marijuana products in public spaces unless local jurisdictions designate specific places to do so.
Local governments can regulate marijuana providers who operate within the local government’s jurisdiction.
The initiative does not prohibit employers from disciplining an employee for violation of a workplace drug policy or for working while intoxicated by marijuana.
Medical marijuana was approved by Montana voters in 2004.
Supporters of the initiative have estimated that the 20% tax on the marijuana and fees charged will generate about $48 million annually by 2025.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is still illegal, as is delivering or distributing marijuana to someone who is under 21.
Residents can possess up to one ounce of marijuana or eight grams of concentrates and can grow up to four marijuana plants at their homes and transport it freely within the state, Lee Newspapers of Montana reported.
HELENA — Montana residents will be legally able to grow and possess marijuana beginning Friday as a voter-passed law to legalize recreational marijuana begins to take effect.
The story continues below.
“Every case is different and has unique facts, so you have to look at each one and make sure it fits the criteria,” Helena criminal defense attorney Jenny Kaleczyc said. “In some cases, that criteria may be in dispute. We’ll find out.”
Under the new law, dispensaries and providers will remain unable to apply for a marijuana business license through the Department of Revenue until October, and won’t be able to sell cannabis commercially until January 2022.
People with misdemeanor possession convictions will be able to begin the process of expunging the charges from their records starting Jan. 1. Montana Supreme Court Administrator Beth McLaughlin said Monday that data on marijuana convictions that qualify for expungement was not immediately available.
No. From January 1, 2022, until July 1, 2023, only Montana medical marijuana licensees who were licensed on November 3, 2020 (or had an application pending with DPHHS on that date) may be issued a license for cultivation, manufacture, or sale of adult-use marijuana.
Will there be limits on the THC content in adult-use marijuana products?
Information Regarding COVID-19 Stimulus Payments
Citizen Services Call Center
If you have records currently saved in My Revenue, we ask you to log into your My Revenue account and download them before July 23, 2021.