Posted on

growing weed in alabama

A Class B felony offense of manufacturing cannabis is punishable by up to between two to 20 years in prison, along with a fine of up to $30,000. If the offender faces enhanced class A felony charges, he or she could be sentenced to 10 to 99 years, or life is prison, and a fine of up to $60,000.

According to section 13A-12-217 of the Alabama Code, an individual can be charged with a Class B felony if he or she unlawfully manufactures marijuana, or possesses any amount of the necessary precursor materials or substances to manufacture marijuana.

An individual who cultivates marijuana can face enhanced charges in Madison County if two or more of the following factors were present during the commission of the offense:

This means that if an individual has the necessary material to cultivate marijuana, he or she can be charged with a criminal offense, even if he or she had not actually started or completed the process.

Enhanced Charges for Marijuana Cultivation Offenses

Although the manufacturing of cannabis may not take place in a laboratory the same way methamphetamines are produced, the cultivation of cannabis is a serious offense. Due to its Schedule I classification, arrests stemming from marijuana related offenses tend to result in felony charges.

In most cases, when these conditions are present, charges will be upgraded to a Class A felony, which carries the potential for a substantial increase in potential penalties.

If you have been charged a cannabis related offense, the attorneys at Law Offices Of Segal & Segal are well equipped to handle your case. Andrew and Sandra Segal are former prosecutors who now provide quality legal representation for clients facing marijuana charges in Madison, Decatur, Huntsville, Trinity, Athens, Madison County, Jackson County, Limestone County, and the surrounding areas. Contact us today at (256) 533-4529 to schedule your free consultation.

Information Center for Alabama’s Marijuana Cultivation Laws

If you have been arrested and accused of growing marijuana, you are undoubtedly under intense pressure. Consulting with an experienced drug defense attorney in Madison County could help alleviate some of your stress, while also giving you a legitimate chance of making it through the legal process without suffering devastating consequences.

No matter how bad the situation may look, a defense attorney with adequate experience may be able to find mitigating factors that could lead to a reduction in your charges or penalties. If you are charged with a felony marijuana crime, don’t hesitate to contact a Huntsville marijuana cultivation defense attorney at our firm today.

Sale or possession of paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $6,000.

Every state criminalizes driving under the influence of a controlled substance. Some jurisdictions also impose additional per se laws. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug or drug metabolite (i.e., compounds produced from chemical changes of a drug in the body, but not necessarily psychoactive themselves) present in their bodily fluids above a specific, state-imposed threshold. Read further information about cannabinoids and their impact on psychomotor performance. Additional information regarding cannabinoids and proposed per se limits is available online.

* The imposition of the sentence will not be suspended and probation will not be granted.

LOCAL DECRIMINALIZATION

This state has local jurisdictions that have enacted municipal laws or resolutions either fully or partially decriminalizing minor cannabis possession offenses.

This state has passed a medical CBD law allowing for the use of cannabis extracts that are high in CBD and low in THC in instances where a physician has recommended such treatment to a patient with a state-qualifying condition.

A marijuana conviction for trafficking will result in a 6 month driver’s license suspension.

Mandatory Minimum Sentence

Sale within 3 miles of a school or a public housing project is an additional felony punishable by an additional sentence of 5 years imprisonment.

Sale, furnishing, or giving a Schedule I substance by a person over 18 to a person under 18 is a Class A felony, punishable by a term of imprisonment between 10-99 years and a fine no greater than 60,000 or twice the value of the concentrate involved.